Tags

, , ,

The nursing school in the South (and many other nursing schools) requires the TEAS V exam for nursing school admission.  I hate standardized tests so when I found this out I was very depressed!

I had to apply to the southern school by February 1st so six months before, I purchased a few study books for the TEAS exam.  You do NOT need this long to study but since I worked and wanted lots of time to feel comfortable, I started early.  That way I could pace myself slowly and feel confident.  I read reviews from many people who studied for only a month before the test and passed.

To make this easier on myself, I’m just going to embed the Amazon reviews I wrote for the study books.  I think it gives a thorough idea of what to expect but if you have specific questions, please contact me!

McGraw Hill StudyI took the TEAS V two days ago and scored a 92%. I bought this book about 6 months before the test to casually review, then took practice tests over the course of two months, and probably only truly “studied” a couples weeks before the test. However, I took A&P, microbiology and biology only one semester before this test and that helps A LOT. Things were fresh in my memory so I scored well on the science section.

I used the McGraw Hill book ALONG WITH the official ATI Review Manual. The ATI review manual goes into much more detail explaining answers, goes over multiple practice problems, and outlines what you need to know with very helpful layouts than the McGraw Hill book. The McGraw-Hill is good if you just want to do timed, practice tests and review your answers with short explanations. I have test anxiety so it was good to have a book that came with 5 tests and let me practice over and over and over…

I will also say that the real TEAS V exam resembled the ATI Review Manual more than the McGraw-Hill book FOR CERTAIN AREAS of the test. For instance, the math section in McGraw Hill covered things that weren’t on the real test (like, the radius/circumference of a circle and a lot of geometry). McGraw Hill’s questions were also poorly worded sometimes (and because of it, I got answers wrong). The science & english portions, I think, were just as helpful as the science & english portions in the ATI Reivew Manual (although, like I said, ATI offers a lot more review & details). I have no idea if questions on the TEAS V exam change regularly so this could be an honest statement from me that proves differently for someone else.

*NOTE ABOUT THE TEAS V TEST* The English sections were easy for me because I’ve always been good at English and grammar. You definitely need to know how to read a passage and answer questions (what’s the topic? what can you infer? what’s the author’s intention?) You also need to know subject/verb agreement. The math section was hard for me because it required a lot of long, drawn-out division and multiplication and simplifying fractions, etc. AND you don’t have that much time on the math section. Science is science; pure memorizing, putting things together using your own knowledge of anatomy (how does the circulatory system work with the respiratory system?), lots of common sense questions about the scientific method and how to set up research projects, etc. There is some chemistry on there too (covalent bonds, how the periodic table works, metals, earth science, etc.) Again, I’ve taken tons of science courses and some of the more detailed ones recently so that helped me a lot.

ATI Study ManualI took the TEAS V two days ago and scored a 92%. I took practice tests over the course of two months, and probably only truly “studied” a couples weeks before the test. However, I took A&P, microbiology and biology only one semester before this test and that helps A LOT. Things were fresh in my memory so I scored well on the science section.

I like that this book goes into details explaining things and includes 2 practice tests (with explanatory answers in the back of the book). The English sections are easy for me because I’m good at English and grammar. The math section is always hard for me because it requires a lot of long, drawn-out division and multiplication and simplifying fractions, etc. AND you don’t have that much time on the math section. Science is science; pure memorizing, putting things together using your own knowledge of anatomy (how does the circulatory system work with the respiratory system?), lots of common sense questions about the scientific method and how to set up research projects, etc. There is some chemistry on there too (covalent bonds, how the periodic table works, metals, earth science, etc.) Again, I’ve taken tons of science courses and some of the more detailed ones recently so that helped me a lot.

*NOTE* I used this review book along with the “McGraw-Hill’s 5 TEAS Practice Tests.” The ATI review manual goes into much more detail, explains the answers, goes over practice problems, and outlines what you need to know with details than the McGraw Hill book. The McGraw-Hill is good if you just want to do practice tests and review your answers with short explanations. I’m glad I had them both but if you have to choose one, buy the ATI test book.

