Tags

,

I spent this summer trying to decide where to go to nursing school.  I wanted NYU but at $20K a semester, the price was outrageous, especially for a degree like nursing where it doesn’t where you went to school as long as you pass the NCLEX.  Even with a generous scholarship, I would have left after 15 months with 100K+ in debt.

Thanks for the offer, NYU!

Thanks for the offer, NYU!

So I sent an email to the department this weekend stating my withdrawal from the program.  I am disappointed but not for the reasons you may think.  I do not possess the illusion of grandeur that most people hold for New York.  NYC is a cool city and I like it each time I visit but I’m not really a New York person.  Don’t get me wrong; I love the efficiency and no-nonsense attitude of the city.  But at heart, I am a West Coast person: California weather, Portland hippies, Seattle rain.  That is where I want to end up living after I graduate nursing school.

I will be with you someday, Seattle!

I will be with you someday, Seattle!

I am disappointed because I really wanted to get out of the South.  It could have been any school outside of here, NYU or otherwise, and I would feel equally as disappointed.  It feels I’ve tried to escape this damn area so many times: applied to the Peace Corps, got my TEFL certification to teach English in China, was accepted to the nursing program in Australia, was accepted to NYU!  Yet each time something comes up that prevents me from leaving, whether it be unavoidable circumstances I can’t help or out of my own fear.

I will keep moving, though.  I am taking Pathophysiology this fall, I already applied to the local nursing program (starting spring 2014) and my advisor is confident I will be accepted (no more stupid mishaps like last time!).  In the meantime I will be working part time, volunteering and being a student.  I will have summers off in the South program (unlike the NYU program where it would have been 15 months straight, no breaks), which is kind of exciting.  I’m making big plans for my summers (will share these later).

