Tags

, , , ,

I just have to vent about care plans for a minute.  I hate them.  And no, it’s not because I’m bad at them.  I’ve done very well with them so far.

So why do I hate them?  Let’s talk through this:

On the surface they seem hard.  You have to obtain a lot of information (see my previous post for an example).  In the end, though, you really are taking a simple thing and breaking it down to its smallest consistency, which makes it seem worse than it is.  It would be like writing a 12 page paper on how to bring a spoon to your mouth.  You could do it but damn, it does seem tedious and pointless, especially for something that you do naturally.

I think I also hate it because it seems… trivial.  There’s this huge push toward nursing diagnosis and how different and just as important they are as compared to medical diagnosis.  Which seems… like a stretch to me.  I feel like nurses are trying too hard to be important.  They are important already.  Leave it at that.  Do we really need to dumb down obvious patient interventions in order to make ourselves look just as cool as doctors?  It reminds me of a little sister dressing up in her big sister’s clothing; cut it out and wear your own stuff already, gheeze.

I have a good example from our post conference last week (post conference is when our students huddle after clinical to discuss the day).  One girl asked about how she could integrate diabetes into her nursing diagnosis.  The conversation:

Student:  “My patient has risk of impaired skin integrity related to diabetes.  Can I write that?”

Teacher: “So, think of another way you could say it using a nursing diagnosis.”

Student: “Uh.  Risk of impaired skin integrity related to diabetic lifestyle…?”

Teacher: “So, think like a nurse.  Not a doctor.  Think of a nursing diagnosis, not a medical one.”

Student: *confused face* “Uh.  So… risk of impaired skin integrity related to too much glucose?”

Teacher: “Better, yes!  Keep thinking.  What exactly is diabetes?”

Student: “Body not responding to or pancreatic cells not producing enough insulin?”

Teacher: “YES!”

Student: “So, say they have diabetes without saying they have diabetes?”

Teacher: “Exactly!”

My face:

Aunt-Linda

