Tags

, ,

I haven’t posted much this summer because I’ve been contemplating how to go about sharing details without sharing details.  We’ve all read stories about bloggers who rant about their stupid boss or how much they hate working at X company and then weeks later there’s an even angrier post about how they were fired after their blog was discovered, etc.  So how do I share what I’m doing without sharing what I’m doing?  It’s a tough line to walk.

thin-ice-cc

 

I’ve traveled a lot this summer: Caribbean, California, New Mexico, Oklahoma.  I’m fully determined to enjoy my summers off while I still can.  I’m a student, after all!  But I also partook in some responsibilities such as updating my CPR certification and I decided to accept a job position at a local hospital.  I figured I should have something on my resume besides “laid poolside” from months May to August.

This is how it went down:  I interviewed for an internship in April.  The interview was a bust.  I was ill but still forced myself to go, which is a terrible idea because we’re always more honest when we’re sick due to the raw, uncomfortable nature of illness itself.

Tip for when you go on an interview: “Why do you want to work here?” should not be answered with “You were the first to call me back.”

Suffice it to say, they were not impressed but did offer to push my resume along to other departments.  Months later, I received a congratulatory email, “You got the job!”  What job? I asked (because I honestly had forgotten all about it).  “A student nurse technician on a med/surg floor!” they replied.  I shrugged and said “Sure.”

What does a student tech do on a med/surg floor?  I do everything a regular tech does + any skills I’ve been checked off on in nursing school (linen changes, baths, feeding assistance, toileting needs, oral care (I don’t care how important it is I am not looking in that foul mouth), start/stop IVs, foleys, transport, discharge, you name it!)

Basically, I can do everything but give medication (which is fine with me because giving meds is so boring).  I have been pleasantly surprised.  The nurses on the floor are great; pleasant, competent, and willing to teach.  The regular techs on the floor are about 50/50; some are awesome and some are nothing but lazy free loaders.  I’ve already made enemies with one but I’m a firm believer in enemies; they are essential in life.  “A man with no enemies is a man with no character.” ~ Paul Newman

Untitled

 

This hospital is different than most.  It’s a bit of a culture shock since it operates under entirely different standards and protocols.  That’s as much as I’m going to say about that.  I have been told that once I graduate, I pretty much have a guaranteed job.  I can interview for certain departments and if the manager decides they want me, I’m set!  I want to go to the ER but like I said, this hospital is different than most, which means the ER is different than most.  I might do just as well staying on the floor I’m currently on.  I don’t discount the importance of working with a good team being led by a good manager.  That can make a world of difference and it’s not something I want to give up freely, especially since I’ve witnessed first hand how one bad egg can spoil the dozen.

A good team is invaluable.

Can you believe that?  I might actually stay on a med/surg floor after so many semesters of proclaiming my desire for death if it means I avoid working on med/surg.  Oh, sweet irony, how you mock me.

TheIronyIsJustTooDamnHigh-41204

 

 

 

 

