Tags

, ,

The job search process was a bit frustrating.  I had said in an older post that I work with good nurses/manager and was told I would have a job after graduation, etc.  This turned out to be a version of the truth.

Some of the nurses are good.  Some are lazy and some choose friends and base their actions off who their friends are (i.e., if you’re not friends with the charge, you’re stuck with the “bad patients”).  Some are selfish to the point of repulsion (i.e., I brought goodbye cupcakes after graduation and they ask why I didn’t bring lunch for everyone).  And that’s when I said, “Oh, I thought you were on that diet still?”

Untitled

 

And turns out, I didn’t have a guaranteed job.  After the run-around for months, I was finally given an interview, at which point in time I asked specifically what job position it was that I was interviewing for.  They said, “You will receive an email that will include what department you’re assigned to.”  I asked what the internship structure was.  They said, “It’s a 12 month preceptorship.  You aren’t counted as staff, you work your preceptor’s schedule, you don’t have your own patients, and at the end of 12 months you can apply for a full-time position, no guarantees.”

Untitled

I feel ya, kid

 

So, essentially clinical for another 12 months, no control over what department I get to work in, and technically no job security?  Not a very appealing offer.  It was still a hard decision because I love the patients at that particular hospital.  I also had made friends on my floor so wanted to stay where I was comfortable.  But due to the terrible internship structure and lack of flexibility, I decided to accept an offer at a different hospital.

Sadly, I visited my old floor recently and one of the nurses said that the information I was given about the length of the preceptorship was wrong.  What’s more sad, I wasn’t even surprised that was the case; their ineptness has become normalized in my mind.  It’s a shame they can’t get organized enough to get and keep good employees but unfortunately, that is the structure there.

I am both excited, disappointed and nervous to be starting somewhere entirely new.  There’s a lot to learn on the new floor, which I am looking forward to.  It’s also nice to go to work at a place that it organized, professional and works hard to keep their employees happy.  I begin orientation early January, take the NCLEX mid January, and will work independently as an RN by the end of March (after about a month of preceptorship).

Untitled

Right on, Helen

