Tags

, , ,

bookstackHow should you study for the NCLEX?  Like my previous post stated, it’s important to identify your needs because that’s what you should focus on (don’t study what you already know and train your brain for what applies to you).  However, if I could give one piece of advice, I would tell you to do as many practice questions as possible.  This is for two reasons:

  1. The more you do, the more comfortable you become with the type of questions you will see on NCLEX.
  2. The more you do, the more you identify trends: what NCLEX thinks is important/the topics that continuously come up over and over, what the answer most likely is if you’re clueless, and where your weak spots are (therefore, what you should review).

That being said, be 100% certain that the resources you’re using are reliable, certified and accurate in terms of prepping you.  Many students use apps on phones or practice question banks and when you ask them, “Well, who actually made these practice questions?” they couldn’t tell you.  It’s better to have one, good quality resource than a million crappy ones.

More isn’t better! 

The people who fail the NCLEX are not adequately prepared, probably d/t a mixture of their own doing and poor instruction.  So remember: go for quality.  Talk to instructors.  Do your research.  You are much more likely to fail if you don’t take the time or energy to succeed.  At that point, whose fault is it?

I mainly used this book:  Saunder’s Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination.  The questions accurately reflected the style and difficulty level of the NCLEX.  I purchased the physical book and the online Evolve access, which includes extra questions.

I also accidentally purchased the Saunder’s Comprehensive Review book (whoops!) and used it a little after I exhausted the Saunder’s Q&A test bank.  It too seemed to reflect the NCLEX well enough, although I admit I only did about 200 questions from it.

I think it’s useful to understand how NCLEX “thinks.”  Therefore, a Kaplan review book could also be helpful.  I read through the Kaplan Premier book briefly but like I said before, my CCI class in S2 was structured like a Kaplan course, so I personally didn’t need to focus much energy on that front.

9780323356336_p0_v1_s192x300

Saunder’s Q&A

42966696_1403168243

Saunder’s Comprehensive Review

9781618658746_p0_v2_s192x300

Kaplan NCLEX-RN Premier

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

