Tags

, ,

Charting is the most time consuming part of my job.  There is a lot to chart, of course, but the time consuming part is mainly due to cleaning up messes.  For example, other nurses from previous shifts may chart the wrong thing; happens all the time because it’s very easy to chart on the wrong patient, especially when you have 5 high maintenance patients and it’s 3am in the morning and you’re just trying to make it through the night without killing someone (including yourself).

You start to seriously sympathize with drug addicts and alcoholics in those moments.  You start to wonder if room 5 would be willing to share some of their weed with you…

I digress.  But here’s a good example of what I’m talking about.  This is a screenshot from our charting system and I’m sure you can see how someone like me, a type A organizational Nazi, might find it impossible to look past these indiscretions and have to chart everything correctly, leaving it nice and pretty for the nurse after me.

untitled

